Get Organized!

I noticed that the more I have to do, the more I actually get done. It doesn’t make sense at first glance, but a lot of people would agree that being busy is precisely what gets them motivated.

I’ve been going to dance for a little over 7 years now, in a modern dance group of Shostakovich School of Music Art and Dance. Every year, I am hesitant to take on the commitment of balancing dance into my already busy life. In the back of my mind, I am always aware of the possibility of failure in that department, which may result in my quitting dance or neglecting another part of my life. And every year, as my load of work increases, such as my schoolwork especially now that I am in college, I keep dancing.

I have a theory that time-consuming hobbies are actually beneficial to getting one’s schedule on track, and getting organized. Keeping some set time aside for dance, sports, or any other hobby of your liking would automatically force you to manage your time efficiently.

A friend of mine who also dances with me keeps a handy planner where she writes out her daily routine and sticks to it, in order to fulfill her schoolwork, earn enough hours at work, and still have time to go to the gym and to dance four days a week. Actually, dance is more than that because we also perform at concerts throughout the year, pretty frequently in the spring.

Another friend of mine says that going to the gym makes him feel better, physically and also in a sense that he accomplished something. Not only that, but it also helps him get organized. It’s kind of like putting yourself under pressure because you know you only have a certain time slot to do what you need to do. Instead of procrastinating, you would realize that this is the only chance you will have to finish your workload.

Whether or not you keep a written log of your activities, the point is to enjoy all the things you set out to do. I know it’s very important for me to keep up my grades in order to achieve my career goals, but I also want to enjoy every bit that life has to offer, and I grab every opportunity to do so. Teens in my position do the same – they go to school, they work, they may have a hobby that they love to do, and they go out with friends, etc. Too bad there are only so many hours in a day, and that one third of them have to be spent sleeping! Image how many things could be accomplished?

Leave a Reply

