Writing a Critical Review

For my next assignment in English class, I am required to write a critical review of an aesthetic object of some sort. These types of reviews are commonly found in magazines, journals and newspapers. They span from targeting specific audiences such as teenage girls reading Seventeen to reaching a broad range of readers like the feature section of The New York Times.

I often read such reviews to aid in my decision of whether or not to go to a particular movie or visit an exhibit in a museum. I look for articles written by authors with similar interests to mine and those who seem to have an authority or area or expertise on a particular subject of interest. I also look for an intriguing opening, use of humor and other attention grabbing tools such as images, etc.

Earlier I wrote a few blog posts about my ideas and possible subjects for the review. I thought long and hard, because these types of compositions are particularly of interest to me. I like to go out and experience some aspect of culture such as a theatre/dance performance, movie or restaurant/lounge. All of these are possible topics for such a review. However, I finally decided to write about the musical Rent.

Rent came to life on Broadway a decade ago, and yet there is something so intimate and strong about it, that it continues to draw crowds. Now that the movie version came out, it is much more convenient for viewers to enjoy the magic of Rent in their homes, with the convenience of managing the performance with the touch of a button. In my essay, I plan to bring out the positive aspects of both of these mediums, and the common themes that tie both. Of course, I would have to discuss any flaws I observe as well for a full coverage.

Attached are my invention activities outlining my ideas. They follow multiple guidelines for a critical review. Feel free to look over them and comment.

invention

Leave a Reply

